What I learned in an (impatient) season of waiting.

On the afternoon of April 18th, 2018, I made a call to the maternity department at my doctors office. I’d been having contractions since 4:30 that morning. It was 3 weeks and one day until my due date.

The doctor had me come to the office to be evaluated. They decided that at 3 cm dilated and having contractions like I was, I was in early labor. They sent me home telling me I’d probably end up having a baby by that weekend!

Well, Mordecai wasn’t born until May 3rd; 2 weeks and one day after I started having contractions. Those two weeks were filled with excitement and frustration. Not knowing when I would go into full on labor while having constant contractions every day was physically and emotionally exhausting. I began to struggle with my patience and trusting in God’s perfect timing.

However, God did remind me of a few beautiful truths during these long two weeks. First I learned that God is merciful.

I was frustrated and impatient and I was overwhelmed with conviction over my selfish feelings. I was worried God wasn’t going to bless my labor or my baby because of it. Until one day he revealed his Word to me:

The Lord is merciful and compassionate, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. (Psalm 145:8)

I realized that God’s character is greater than my unworthiness. He looks beyond my sin and selfishness with mercy, compassion, and love!

I also learned that God has authority over my life and it is good!

I’m not sure how many times over the course of those weeks that I prayed for my labor to start. Every day that I went to bed without any sign of change was hard. But almost every day, God showed me that there was a reason his answer was “no.”

One of those instances was the morning David and I went for a walk around town. A lady stopped us and gave us the spiel that we’ve heard plenty of people give before. She told us about her life and her need for money and the good reason she needed it and asked if we could spare her even some change. David told her that we didn’t have any money to give her but asked if we could pray with her.

As David prayed for her, he thanked God for creating her and loving her and asked God to protect her and provide for her what she really needed. Before she left, she thanked us fervently with tears in her eyes. I know she experienced God’s love that day. Had I been in the hospital having a baby like I wanted, God wouldn’t have been able to bless this lady as he did.

Photo Credit: Katherine Renee Photography

On the morning of Mordecai’s birth, I told God again how I was struggling with the anticipation of the baby’s arrival but I knew he had planned the perfect day for him to come. I felt peace on this day and God answered my weeks of prayers with an incredibly easy labor and quick delivery resulting in both a healthy baby and mom. No matter how impatient I become in any circumstance, I am thankful that God’s plan is always greater than my own! It’s in this truth that I am truly blessed.

One thought on “What I learned in an (impatient) season of waiting.

Leave a comment